Handling an Automobile Accident in Austin
The Law Offices of Steve Gibbins has more than 25 years of experience handling automobile accident cases. We are familiar with the Texas laws that affect your case, and our auto accident lawyers in Austin want to do everything within our power to help you through this difficult experience.
Safety Tips for Avoiding Automobile Accidents in Austin
Not surprisingly, most automobile accidents occur when motorists do not follow the rules of the road. The following simple steps can make the difference between getting to your destination safely and having an accident:
What to do after an Austin Automobile Accident
Texas law requires you to report collisions involving any of the following circumstances to the police:
When you are in a car accident in Austin or anywhere in Texas, you must remain at the scene until an officer tells you otherwise. The law also requires you to move your vehicle out of the flow of traffic if there are no injuries and you can do so safely.
If you do not call the police, you must file a crash report with the Texas Department of Transportation within 10 days if:
- There are injuries or fatalities
- You believe that property damage exceeds $1,000
- You believe that a driver is unlicensed, does not have insurance, attempted to leave the scene, or is intoxicated
If you do not file a report, you are subject to a fine up to $500, plus court costs.
When to Contact Austin Automobile Accident Lawyers
If an accident causes injuries or kills a loved one, you need to speak with a lawyer. The law may entitle you to monetary compensation for medical bills, damaged property, pain and suffering, and other losses. Let the Austin automobile accident attorney at the Law Offices of Steve Gibbins explain your rights and show you how attention to details and evidence strengthens your case.